The Tinnitus and Hyperacusis Research Laboratory

Agreement between Menodys and Univalor

MENODYS and Univalor signs an exclusive agreement to develop and market a medical device targeting audiology and tinnitus objective evaluation....
Read More

Passage in the “Mise à jour” broadcast

Discussion about tinnitus and its symptoms - November 2103
Read More

Sylvie Hébert, PhD, Acouphènes Québec new president

Extract of the Press release " Great news for Acouphènes Québec ", published on June 8th, 2015. May 23rd, 2015,...
Read More

Interview – “Une cigale dans l’oreille”

"Une cigale dans l'oreille": the tinnitus nightmare Listen to this interview "Une cigale dans l'oreille " which Dre Sylvie Hébert...
Read More

Passage in “Le Code Chastenay” broadcast

Don't miss the next episode of "Code Chastenay" broadcast on the waves of Télé-Québec. This week, eliminate the DEL blue...
Read More

Conference: “Tinnitus : a ghost in the head!”

Tinnitus : a ghost in the head! March 30th, 2016 by Sylvie Hébert, PhD. As part of the University of...
Read More

Radio interviews – Ear worms

Why we get songs stuck in our heads? Having a catchy song which repeats in a loop or at intervals...
Read More

Poster presentation to the “33rd World Congress of Audiology”

Among the posters presented within the framework of this event, note the one entitled " A systematic assessment of the...
Read More

Congrès international en audiologie et en orthophonie

This international conference, organized by the University of Montreal’s School of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology, is part of the...
Read More
Congrès international en audiologie et en orthophonie

Conference to the “Salon FADOQ 2016”

The fifth edition of the "Salon FADOQ 50 years +" - Regions of Quebec and Chaudière-Appalaches will be held from...
Read More
Conference to the “Salon FADOQ 2016”
{"slides_column":"1","slides_scroll":"1","dots":"true","arrows":"false","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"2000","speed":"300"}

The Tinnitus and Hyperacusis Research Laboratory is nested within the International Laboratory for Brain, Music, and Sound Research located at Université de Montréal, Montréal, Canada, which is jointly affiliated to Université de Montréal and McGill University. We conduct fundamental and clinical research and develop instruments to better characterize normal hearing as well as hearing pathologies.

Our research focuses on two hearing problems increasingly recognized as major public health issues, namely tinnitus and hyperacusis, and their co-morbidities.

Tinnitus – defined as a sound perceived in the ears or head in the absence of an external sound source – presents with variable pitch (humming, whistling) and loudness (soft or loud) qualities. Tinnitus affects approximately 10 to 12 % of the general population, with prevalence rates increasing up to about 30% after age 50 [1] and even higher among workers with occupational hearing loss. Our laboratory develops psychoacoustical methods to better characterize tinnitus, in order to improve its diagnosis and study how the tinnitus percept is modified by intervention.

Although tinnitus is well tolerated by most of the affected people, 1 to 2 % experience severe distress. Why this is so is poorly understood. The notion that non-auditory factors play a critical role in tinnitus-related distress is a central theme of our research program, emphasizing theaffective (distress) dimensions of tinnitus. Accordingly, our research also focuses on tinnitus co-morbidities such as stress [2-3] and sleep problems [4, 5], and how they can either modulate or be modulated, by the presence of tinnitus- a typical (and intriguing) chicken and egg conundrum.

Hyperacusis is defined as abnormally excessive intolerance to common sounds in the environment, in spite of normal or near-normal hearing. For instance, a hyperacusis sufferer cannot tolerate certain sounds perceived as normal by others, nor tolerate noisy environments. In other words, the person becomes hypersensitive to, and behaviourally ill affected by environmental sounds. Remarkably, there is no consensus concerning the prevalence of hyperacusis, partly because of a lack of objective criteria and variable definition from one study to another.

Tinnitus and hyperacusis can be viewed as pathologies of loudness perception, which is the attribute of an auditory percept that can be ordered on a scale from quiet to loud. We are interested in exploring how normal loudness is encoded in the brain and how it can be modulated in normal hearing listeners. In order to better understand the mechanisms of normal loudness, tinnitus and hyperacusis, and to plan intervention studies, our laboratory recruits highly qualified people from a wide range of disciplines: we recruit and welcome graduate students with an Audiology, Neuroscience, Psychology, Music, Engineering, and Life Sciences background.

  1. Shargorodsky, J., G.C. Curhan, and W.R. Farwell, Prevalence and characteristics of tinnitus among US adults. Am J Med, 2010. 123(8): p. 711-8.
  2. Simoens, V.L. and S. Hébert, Cortisol suppression and hearing thresholds in tinnitus after low-dose dexamethasone challenge.BMC Ear Nose Throat Disord, 2012. 12: p. 4.
  3. Hébert, S., B. Canlon, and D. Hasson, Emotional Exhaustion as a Predictor of Tinnitus. Psychother Psychosom, 2012. 81(5): p. 324-326.
  4. Hébert, S., S. Fullum, and J. Carrier, Polysomnographic and quantitative electroencephalographic correlates of subjective sleep complaints in chronic tinnitus. J Sleep Res, 2011. 20(1 Pt 1): p. 38-44.
  5. Hébert, S. and J. Carrier, Sleep Complaints in Elderly Tinnitus Patients: A Controlled Study. Ear Hear, 2007. 28(5): p. 649-655.

Laboratoire de recherche sur les acouphènes et l’hyperacousie

Accord entre Menodys et Univalor

MENODYS et Univalor signent un accord exclusif pour développer et commercialiser un dispositif médical ciblant le marché de l'audiologie et...
Read More

Passage à l’émission « Mise à jour »

Discussion au sujet de l'acouphène et des symptômes entourant cette maladie mal connue - novembre 2013
Read More

Sylvie Hébert, PhD Nouvelle présidente d’Acouphènes Québec

Extrait du Communiqué de presse "Grande nouvelle pour Acouphènes Québec", publié le 8 juin 2015. Le 23 mai 2015, lors...
Read More

Entrevue – « Une cigale dans l’oreille »

"Une cigale dans l’oreille": le cauchemard des acouphènes Écoutez cette entrevue «Une cigale dans l’oreille » que Dre Sylvie Hébert...
Read More

Passage à l’émission « Le Code Chastenay »

Ne manquez pas le prochain épisode du "Code Chastenay" diffusé sur les ondes de Télé-Québec. Au programme, éliminer la lumière...
Read More

Conférence « Les acouphènes: un fantôme dans la tête! »

Les acouphènes : un fantôme dans la tête! 30 mars 2016 par Sylvie Hébert, PhD. Dans le cadre de la programmation...
Read More

Entrevues radiophoniques – Les vers d’oreille

Pourquoi une chanson nous reste-elle dans la tête? Le fait d'avoir une chanson accrocheuse qui se répète en boucle ou...
Read More

Communication affichée au « 33rd World Congress of Audiology »

Parmi les présentations affichées dans le cadre de cet événement, notez celle de Philippe Fournier, PhD, intitulée "A systematic assessment...
Read More

Congrès international en audiologie et en orthophonie

Le congrès international organisé par l’École d’orthophonie et d’audiologie de l’Université de Montréal fait partie des festivités du 60e se déroulant...
Read More
Congrès international en audiologie et en orthophonie

Conférence au Salon FADOQ 2016

La cinquième édition du Salon FADOQ 50 ans+ - Régions de Québec et Chaudière-Appalaches se tiendra du 30 septembre au...
Read More
Conférence au Salon FADOQ 2016
{"slides_column":"1","slides_scroll":"1","dots":"true","arrows":"false","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"2000","speed":"300"}

 

Le laboratoire de recherche sur les acouphènes et l’hyperacousie fait parti du BRAMS, le laboratoire international de recherche sur le cerveau, la musique et le son, lequel est affilié à l’Université de Montréal, l’Université McGill et l’Institut Neurologique de Montréal spécialisés en recherche sur la cognition musicale. Nous menons des recherches fondamentales et cliniques en plus de développer des instruments permettant de mieux caractériser l’audition et les pathologies auditives.

Notre laboratoire s’intéresse principalement à deux problèmes courants de l’audition, soit les acouphènes et l’hyperacousie, ainsi que leurs co-morbidités.

Les acouphènes se décrivent essentiellement comme un son perçu dans les oreilles ou la tête en l’absence d’une source sonore externe. Les sons entendus peuvent prendre plusieurs formes (bourdonnements, sifflements) et se présenter selon différentes intensités. Les acouphènes affectent environ 10 à 12% de la population générale. Cette prévalence atteint 30% chez les gens âgés de ≥ 50 ans [1] et même plus chez les travailleurs présentant une surdité professionnelle. Notre laboratoire développe des méthodes psychoacoustiques pour mieux caractériser les acouphènes dans le but d’améliorer le diagnostic et étudier comment leur perception est modifiée par l’intervention de réadaptation.

Malgré que les acouphènes sont bien tolérés par la majorité des personnes affectées, 1 à 2% des gens se disent très dérangés par leurs acouphènes, sans que l’on sache très bien pourquoi. La théorie spéculant que des facteurs non auditifs jouent un rôle crucial dans cette détresse est un thème central de notre programme de recherche. L’emphase est donc mise sur la dimension affective (détresse) des acouphènes et les co-morbidités tels le stress [2-3] et les problèmes de sommeil [4,5]. Nous cherchons à comprendre comment ces éléments peuvent moduler ou être modulés par la présence d’acouphènes, un problème typique (et intriguant) du paradoxe de « la poule ou l’œuf ».

L’hyperacousie est définie comme une intolérance anormale aux sons communs de l’environnement, malgré une audition normale ou quasi-normale. Ainsi, une personne hyperacousique ne pourra tolérer certains sons perçus comme normaux par les autres personnes, ni tolérer les environnements bruyants. Autrement dit, elle devient hypersensible à son environnement sonore. À noter qu’il n’y a pas de consensus concernant la prévalence de l’hyperacousie, en partie en raison du manque de critères objectifs et d’une définition variant beaucoup d’une étude à l’autre.

Les acouphènes et l’hyperacousie peuvent être vus comme des pathologies de la perception sonore, laquelle est l’attribut d’un percept auditif pouvant se définir par une échelle de sonie allant de « son faible » à « son fort ». Notre laboratoire s’intéresse à la façon dont la sonie est encodée par le cerveau et comment elle peut être modulée. Afin de mieux comprendre les mécanismes impliqués dans l’établissement d’une sonie normale, de mieux comprendre les acouphènes et l’hyperacousie et de mieux planifier des études d’intervention, notre laboratoire recrute des personnes hautement qualifiées provenant d’une large gamme de disciplines. Ainsi, nous accueillons des étudiants gradués formés en audiologie, neurosciences, psychologie, musique, ingénierie et sciences du vivant.

  1. Shargorodsky, J., G.C. Curhan, and W.R. Farwell, Prevalence and characteristics of tinnitus among US adults. Am J Med, 2010. 123(8): p. 711-8.
  2. Simoens, V.L. and S. Hébert, Cortisol suppression and hearing thresholds in tinnitus after low-dose dexamethasone challenge.BMC Ear Nose Throat Disord, 2012. 12: p. 4.
  3. Hébert, S., B. Canlon, and D. Hasson, Emotional Exhaustion as a Predictor of Tinnitus. Psychother Psychosom, 2012. 81(5): p. 324-326.
  4. Hébert, S., S. Fullum, and J. Carrier, Polysomnographic and quantitative electroencephalographic correlates of subjective sleep complaints in chronic tinnitus. J Sleep Res, 2011. 20(1 Pt 1): p. 38-44.
  5. Hébert, S. and J. Carrier, Sleep Complaints in Elderly Tinnitus Patients: A Controlled Study. Ear Hear, 2007. 28(5): p. 649-655.